Boys’ Day Out

Lazily looking at lots of Legos!

For the first time in months, maybe more than a year, Mister and I get to have a boys’ day out! Kim’s girl went to her grandparents for the night, so I might even be lucky enough to have a kid-free date tonight, too!

OMSI is packed, so we parked in the back of the overflow lot that I didn’t even know existed until now. I have to smile when I see the other parents running to the door with their kids hand in hand. It’s not just the rain that inspires the high speed entrance!

Ever typical of me, I false start by forgetting the gift card for the excursion in the car. Thirty minutes of waiting in line, just to wind up embarrassing myself running debit cards that can’t cover the admission. 

Something is awfully different. This place gets popular on the weekend, but I have never had to stand in line to see the exhibit after standing in line to pay for it. I swear the line just to see the thing is longer than the one we stood in twice already. I snap a pic and text my girl. I think the image alone made her hate the line enough for all of us. The immigrants from the city I loathe the most make the local residents stand out. No, you trend consuming idiots, you cannot just wear a plaid shirt and think you blend in! We’ve been on the premises for almost two entire hours now, and are finally approaching the entrance. 

An usher counts people as we finally get into the exhibit. We get a short video introduction of the artist. Plastered all over the news, huh? That explains the crowd. Once in though, we thankfully have elbow room again. 

I have to constantly remind Mister to keep his hands off the art. It must be torture! Don’t play with those toys, yeah right! 

“Why is that guy screaming?” he asks. I sigh and tell him that’s a conversation for when he is older. It’s a powerful piece that is difficult to put into words. 

Ah, yes! The Thinker! 😊

Moments earlier, I was trying to explain how people are emotionally influenced by art. I put on a tough guy shell, but here was Hands and I feel the pressure building in my face as my eyes get weepy.

The resonance of emotion is feeling yourself drawn in to a piece until you feel like you are looking at yourself in an out-of-body sort of way. 

“Excuse me. I’ve just got to step outside of myself for a few minutes. But don’t worry, I’ll be back.”

Ooh, this one is impressive. Always cool to see the really big displays!

There were so many pieces. I took maybe 150 pics.

Okay, just a couple more.

For some reason, I’ve always been drawn to the color vs b&w contrast. My tattoos have been planned out with this effect, and films like Sin City just look stunning to me. I was excited to see this display then playing a new trick in a similar vein. Lego art within a photograph!

There was little left to be desired for this exhibit, as this fully broke new ground. While the human form isn’t my favorite artistic theme, I will say that what this artist did, how he did it, and how he shares his story was simply excellent! My little man even found one that he emotionally connected with, too.

Author: Goose Andeluse

Compulsive maker and fowl carpenter.

1 thought on “Boys’ Day Out”

  1. Omg these are so cool! I have a brain-crush on whoever invented Legos 😊❀️

    Thank you for posting this! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

    Cheers!
    ~The Silent Wave Blog writer/Laina 🌟🌟

    Like

Leave a Reply

