Spring Break

Bittersweet burdens

It’s that time of year. We saw it coming and we’ve braced ourselves. Now it’s Saturday. It’s almost over and I don’t know how to feel about it. 

There is no daycare available and no sitter that wants to waste their vacation babysitting. I have my son all week, right through to Monday, so hiring childcare would have rubbed me the wrong way anyway. In light of that, I am quite grateful for the time I do have. 

The conundrum is the fact that I haven’t had a lot of time to work. Rent is right around the corner, and we are scraping our tips together to make it. It doesn’t help that the city went completely dead. Turns out that everyone that can afford to go screw off for a week are not doing it in the beautiful, rainy Pacific NW.
I had my work cut out for me anyway. Lots of moving stuff left to sort for a start. Along with updating records, I decided to call debts and arrange new payment plans. Not that I can pay anything right now, but I guess they still appreciate my calling in and letting them reset a new date to not be able to pay by. 

If I could have my way, I’d be taking the kids to my shop while I work. I’m now paying $200/month to store my tools where I am most definitely not allowed to run them. I already have a few thousand invested in new tools and now a small stack of products as well. Not one to be defeated, I do have a few avenues scoped out for continuing to work on the business. This week I had hoped to work out all the numbers for each option and make some phone calls on warehouse spaces. Didn’t even get close to getting that done. 

Admittedly, I accomplished very little of what I had hoped to. What I have done is chase the kids around the playground, cook meals, and nourish my spirit with flow. Nobody’s flipping me bills to throw things in the air or look after my children’s well being. I have to remind myself that spending time with my kids, every last bit of it that I can, is inherently valuable. It’s difficult because at the very same time I feel the pressure of needing to turn my time into money. 

But it is already Friday. Spring Break is all but over. I did what I could do, and starting Monday it’s going to be pedal to the metal, balls to the walls, breakneck busy. I’m bent on turning our finances around, though it’s not going to be an easy process. First the budget, then the shop. I feel my energy waxing again, so I’m going to enjoy running the kids around while I can!

Took me a while to get this shot of my spider plant with another bloom finally opening. 😊

Author: Goose Andeluse

Compulsive maker and fowl carpenter.

Leave a Reply

